October 2026 Observatory Figures counted October 16, 2026, 04:40 UTC
Public procurement statistics: Austria
12,063 Notices, last 12 complete months
- 2,281 Awards
- €4.3B Awarded value
- 95% Awards that state a value
- December 2025 Fully covered since
Twelve months
September 2026 was the busiest month: 1,908 notices
The last twelve months as three small charts, each on its own scale
Notices
Awards
Awarded value
October 2026 is still being counted.
Hatched months before December 2025 are partial coverage: not every source was in the register yet.
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. See the data
Cite this figure
"September 2026 was the busiest month: 1,908 notices". Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. https://aperlena.com/en/stats/at#chart-months
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Embed
Paste this code where the chart should appear. It follows the figures as they are recounted and links back to this page.
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
The months of 2021
| Month | Notices | Awards | Buyers | Awarded value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2021 partial | 16 | 1 | 10 | €123,200 |
| November 2021 partial | 7 | 6 | 7 | €526,817 |
| October 2021 partial | 6 | 3 | 4 | €294,747 |
| September 2021 partial | 4 | 5 | 4 | €420,723 |
| August 2021 partial | 5 | 3 | 5 | €10.2M |
| July 2021 partial | 11 | 5 | 9 | €1.7M |
| June 2021 partial | 12 | 4 | 5 | €807,526 |
| May 2021 partial | 6 | 4 | 6 | €543,000 |
| April 2021 partial | 3 | 3 | ||
| March 2021 partial | 9 | 1 | 9 | €98,248 |
| February 2021 partial | 14 | 9 | 7 | €2.2M |
| January 2021 partial | 19 | 5 | 6 | €1.0M |
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026.
Sectors by month
September 2026: the busiest month for 8 of the 12 largest sectors
Notices published by sector over the last 12 complete months. Each row is shaded against its own busiest month.
| Sector | October 2025, partial coverage | November 2025, partial coverage | December 2025 | January 2026 | February 2026 | March 2026 | April 2026 | May 2026 | June 2026 | July 2026 | August 2026 | September 2026 | 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Construction work | 7 | 13 | 92 | 301 | 337 | 430 | 407 | 353 | 359 | 370 | 667 | 728 | 4,064 |
| Architecture & engineering services | 34 | 118 | 132 | 162 | 164 | 113 | 145 | 138 | 210 | 216 | 1,432 | ||
| IT services | 28 | 67 | 34 | 83 | 52 | 48 | 57 | 64 | 98 | 132 | 663 | ||
| Business services | 25 | 52 | 46 | 71 | 92 | 42 | 64 | 65 | 71 | 80 | 608 | ||
| Laboratory & precision equipment | 2 | 1 | 17 | 43 | 25 | 52 | 55 | 56 | 49 | 55 | 91 | 78 | 524 |
| Medical equipment & pharmaceuticals | 38 | 43 | 34 | 56 | 56 | 47 | 57 | 58 | 71 | 61 | 521 | ||
| Transport equipment & vehicles | 9 | 31 | 50 | 51 | 57 | 41 | 29 | 56 | 43 | 71 | 438 | ||
| Environment, sewage & cleaning | 11 | 29 | 41 | 43 | 27 | 43 | 49 | 67 | 39 | 37 | 386 | ||
| Software & IT systems | 11 | 31 | 28 | 38 | 32 | 33 | 42 | 41 | 41 | 59 | 356 | ||
| Repair & maintenance services | 13 | 21 | 49 | 37 | 20 | 28 | 21 | 43 | 21 | 52 | 305 | ||
| Electrical machinery | 11 | 22 | 23 | 22 | 25 | 25 | 33 | 25 | 41 | 44 | 271 | ||
| Construction materials | 3 | 18 | 19 | 24 | 20 | 18 | 17 | 16 | 28 | 36 | 199 |
Hatched months before December 2025 are partial coverage: not every source was in the register yet.
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. See the data
Cite this figure
"September 2026: the busiest month for 8 of the 12 largest sectors". Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. https://aperlena.com/en/stats/at#chart-heat
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Embed
Paste this code where the chart should appear. It follows the figures as they are recounted and links back to this page.
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Time to bid
Median 30 days to bid; 12% of calls give under 15
Calls for tenders published from December 2025 to September 2026 that state a deadline (3,390), by calendar days from publication to deadline
- Under 15 days 12%
- 15 to 29 days 32%
- 30 to 44 days 51%
- 45 to 59 days 4%
- 60 days or more 2%
Table
| Days to bid | Notices | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Under 15 days | 422 | 12% |
| 15 to 29 days | 1,077 | 32% |
| 30 to 44 days | 1,714 | 51% |
| 45 to 59 days | 121 | 4% |
| 60 days or more | 56 | 2% |
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. See the data
Cite this figure
"Median 30 days to bid; 12% of calls give under 15". Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. https://aperlena.com/en/stats/at#chart-days
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Embed
Paste this code where the chart should appear. It follows the figures as they are recounted and links back to this page.
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Size of awards
Median award about €150,000; 4% are under €50,000
Awards decided from December 2025 to September 2026 whose notice states a value (2,097), by size
- Under €50,000 4%
- €50,000 to €200,000 56%
- €200,000 to €1.0M 25%
- €1.0M to €5.5M 10%
- Over €5.5M 4%
Table
| Award value | Awards | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Under €50,000 | 78 | 4% |
| €50,000 to €200,000 | 1,181 | 56% |
| €200,000 to €1.0M | 530 | 25% |
| €1.0M to €5.5M | 216 | 10% |
| Over €5.5M | 92 | 4% |
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. See the data
Cite this figure
"Median award about €150,000; 4% are under €50,000". Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. https://aperlena.com/en/stats/at#chart-bands
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Embed
Paste this code where the chart should appear. It follows the figures as they are recounted and links back to this page.
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Procedures
Open procedure: 41% of the notices
Notices published from December 2025 to September 2026 (12,037), by procedure as the source states it, from the most open to the least
- Open procedure 41%
- Restricted 2%
- Negotiated 37%
- Direct award 7%
- Other or not stated 12%
Table
| Procedure | Notices | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Open procedure | 4,924 | 41% |
| Restricted | 273 | 2% |
| Negotiated | 4,443 | 37% |
| Direct award | 899 | 7% |
| Other or not stated | 1,498 | 12% |
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. See the data
Cite this figure
"Open procedure: 41% of the notices". Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. https://aperlena.com/en/stats/at#chart-procedures
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Embed
Paste this code where the chart should appear. It follows the figures as they are recounted and links back to this page.
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
EU thresholds
82% of the notices are above the EU thresholds
Notices published from December 2025 to September 2026 that say which side they are on (12,037)
- Above the thresholds 82%
- Below the thresholds 18%
Table
| Threshold | Notices | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Above the thresholds | 9,915 | 82% |
| Below the thresholds | 2,122 | 18% |
Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. See the data
Cite this figure
"82% of the notices are above the EU thresholds". Source: Aperlena register, monthly figures counted on October 16, 2026. https://aperlena.com/en/stats/at#chart-thresholds
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Embed
Paste this code where the chart should appear. It follows the figures as they are recounted and links back to this page.
Free to reuse with attribution, "Aperlena (aperlena.com)" and a link, under CC BY 4.0.
Largest buyers by awarded value
The 10 largest buyers award 74% of the stated value
Awards decided in the last 12 months, ranked by the value their notices state.
- Monopolverwaltung für Wien, Niederösterreich und Burgenland €1.6B 25 awards
- Monopolverwaltung für Oberösterreich und Salzburg €585.1M 15 awards
- Monopolverwaltung für Steiermark und Kärnten €393.6M 12 awards
- Monopolverwaltung für Tirol und Vorarlberg €336.1M 13 awards
- Gemeinnützige Salzburger Landeskliniken Betriebsgesellschaft mbH €170.3M 94 awards
- Salzburger Flughafen GmbH €170.0M 2 awards
- ÖBB-Technische Services-GmbH €156.2M 68 awards
- LINZ STROM GAS WÄRME GmbH €149.5M 8 awards
- LINZ AG €118.0M 1 award
- Innsbrucker Immobilien GmbH & Co KG €71.2M 63 awards
Companies by awarded value
Awards decided in the last 12 months, ranked by the value their notices state. Companies only: a winner is listed when its name says it is a legal entity. Natural persons are never ranked.
- PORR Bau GmbH €90.5M 16 awards
- Siemens Mobility Austria GmbH €88.2M 15 awards
- Bauunternehmung Granit Gesellschaft m.b.H. und Caverion Österreich GmbH €65.0M 1 award
- Johnson Controls Austria GmbH & Co OHG €59.0M 1 award
- Cloudflight Austria GmbH €42.0M 2 awards
- Elin GmbH €28.2M 8 awards
- HOCHTIEF Infrastructure GmbH €25.0M 2 awards
- Bauunternehmung Granit GesmbH €23.8M 2 awards
- Siemens AG Österreich €21.1M 10 awards
- PORR Bau GmbH Tiefbau NL Salzburg €19.2M 2 awards
Procedure facts
- of lots in open and restricted procedures received a single tender
- 20%
- of comparable awards came in 20% or more above their estimate
- 2%
- of awards were direct awards, as the sources label them
- 10%
- buyer and company pairs with three or more direct awards in two years
- 18
Tenders received and estimates over the last 3 years, direct awards over the last 2, from the awards in the register whose notices state them. Sources differ in what they publish and in how they label procedures: compare countries with care. Facts that procurement researchers and journalists track across public records. None of them is evidence of wrongdoing: each has ordinary explanations, such as a specialised market, an urgent need or a short list of qualified suppliers.
Compare
Method: counts come from official procurement notices aggregated by Aperlena; a notice belongs to the month it was published and an award to the month it was decided. Value sums cover only awards whose official notice states a value - the coverage percentage says how many do. Nothing is estimated.
Amounts in rankings and totals: an award amount is printed as its source publishes it. From EUR 50 million up, an amount is left out of every sum, ranking and list of the largest when it is more than 20 times its own notice's estimate, when the same buyer has already stated the same amount on an earlier award (a contract restated by later notices, or a ceiling shared by several lots, is counted once, on the earliest), or when it is above EUR 500 million and more than 100 times the 99th percentile of three years of awards in the same country and sector. The award still counts as an award, and its own page shows the published amount.
Reuse: the aggregate statistics computed by Aperlena (figures, charts and the downloadable tables) may be reused with attribution under CC BY 4.0. Attribution: "Aperlena (aperlena.com)", with a link. The underlying notices remain subject to the terms of their official sources.
Coverage: a country or a sector is covered from the first month since which its monthly notices hold steady up to today. Walking back from the last complete month, a month counts while it holds at least a third of the median of the three months after it. Earlier months are drawn hatched and labelled partial. No change is printed across them, nor when a month is more than double or less than half the one before: in this register that is a source being loaded, not a market moving.
Days to bid, award sizes, procedures and thresholds are read only from fully covered months and only above 30 observations. The median award is read from a histogram and rounded to two figures.