Skip to content
Aperlena

Find a Tender Service (UK Cabinet Office / Crown Commercial Service) verified 4 weeks ago Contract award

Professional and Generic Skills Programme

Awarded United Kingdom

Buyer NHS England

Key facts

Awarded
Procedure
Open procedure Anyone may submit a bid, in one step, with no pre-selection. Full entry
View the official notice Watch this tender

This contract runs about 36 months, so it is back on the market around October 2029. Log in

Awarded to

University of Plymouth

Record with this buyer
1 first contract from this buyer in the register
Back on the market
Oct 2029 How we know

Summary

Machine-generated summary

NHS England awarded a contract for a provider to design, deliver, administer and continuously improve a Professional and Generic Skills Programme for postgraduate medical and dental learners across the South-West of England. The programme supports leadership, management, communication, patient safety, ethics and quality improvement skills, aligned with the GMC Generic Professional Capabilities Framework. Approximately 225 learner places are expected per year, with a maximum price per learner of £1,022.22 excluding VAT and a total contract value of £1,150,000. The contract was awarded to the University of Plymouth on 2026-09-29. Payment is based on learner volume, with no guaranteed income under the contract.

Timing

  1. Published Awarded
  2. Contract ends October 2029

When this contract comes back

This contract runs about 36 months, so it is back on the market around October 2029.

Every contract expiring, on the radar

Description

NHS England is seeking to award a contract for a provider to design, deliver, administer and continuously improve a Professional and Generic Skills Programme for postgraduate medical and dental learners across the South-West of England. The programme will support the development of leadership, management, communication, patient safety, ethics and quality improvement skills, and must align with the General Medical Council (GMC) Generic Professional Capabilities Framework and wider NHS workforce priorities. The anticipated requirement is for approximately 225 learner places per year. There shall be no guaranteed income under the Contract, but a cost per learner to be charged to the Contracting Authority in respect of each learner participating in the training programme under the Contract. The cost per learner shall be an all-inclusive cost and the only charge to be recovered under the Contract in respect of services provided. The Awarded Contract shall be payable based on the volume of activity with a maximum price per learner of £1,022.22 (Exclusive of VAT). The maximum cost per learner has been calculated using the total contract value divided by the indicative maximum learner volume over the contract term. £1,150,000 ÷ 1,125 = £1,022.22. The following risks have been declared through the contract notice: Learner numbers may vary during the contract term. The current estimate is approximately 225 learner places per year, but actual demand may increase or decrease in response to workforce requirements, funding availability and regional demand. Any material change to learner numbers, and any associated change in contract value, will be subject to budget availability, agreement between the parties, NHS England governance approval and any required business case approvals. The curriculum may also need to change during the contract term to reflect regulatory requirements, national policy, professional standards, workforce priorities or updates to the GMC Generic Professional Capabilities Framework. The successful provider will be required to work collaboratively with NHS England to review and update programme content where necessary, ensuring the programme remains current, compliant and aligned to emerging best practice. Any significant curriculum changes will be subject to appropriate governance and approval.

Change history

Every time an official source republished this notice with different content. We watch every source we index, including regional copies of the same notice.

  1. Status
    Was: Closed
    Now: Awarded
    Main CPV code
    Was: 80000000
    Now: not stated
    Estimated value
    The value was removed from the notice.
    Award date
    not stated
    Now: September 28, 2026
    Submission deadline
    The deadline was removed from the notice.
    Scope and criteria
    The description was shortened. Re-read it before you bid.
    Winner
    not stated
    Now: University of Plymouth
    Estimated value
    The value was removed from the notice.
  2. Read before bidding
    Status
    Was: Upcoming
    Now: Open
    Estimated value
    Was: €1,344,007
    Now: €1,345,187
    Submission deadline
    not stated
    Now: September 15, 2026, 11:00
    Scope and criteria
    The description was shortened. Re-read it before you bid.
    Procedure
    not stated
    Now: Open procedure
  3. Status
    Was: Open
    Now: Upcoming
  4. Status
    Was: Upcoming
    Now: Open
  5. Status
    Was: Open
    Now: Upcoming
  6. Status
    Was: Upcoming
    Now: Open

Follow this tender and we email you the moment it changes. Create account

Official source

Source: Find a Tender Service (UK Cabinet Office / Crown Commercial Service)

Always verify details on the official notice.

Last verified against Find a Tender Service (UK Cabinet Office / Crown Commercial Service) 4 weeks ago

Documents on Find a Tender Service (UK Cabinet Office / Crown Commercial Service) (English)

NHS England

United Kingdom

Awards most often to

  1. Cgi it uk limited 6 awards €196.8M
  2. Akhter Computers Limited 4 awards €2.1M
  3. MIAA (Mersey Internal Audit Agency) 3 awards €215,821

31 open tenders right now

More figures

The buyer in figures

NHS England

notices in the register
318
awards
232
awarded in total
€548.4M

Who wins its contracts

Many suppliers
different companies won its awards
182
of the awards went to the three most frequent winners
6%
of its calls state an estimated value
97%

Based on 213 awards with a named winner over the last 3 years. Counted by award, not by value, because lot and framework amounts are not comparable. Concentrated means the three most frequent winners took 65% or more of the awards; many suppliers, under 35% with at least ten different winners.

One dot per award, on the day it was signed, sized by its value. A ring is an award with no published value.

Similar tenders

Open now

Never miss a tender like this

2,356 new notices in all sectors in United Kingdom in the last 7 days. Get an email when new ones appear. Free.

Set up my alert

Keyboard shortcuts

Read a list without reaching for the mouse. The shortcuts stay quiet while you type in a field.

j
Next result
k
Previous result
Enter
Open the result
n
Next page
p
Previous page
c
Compare this result
s
Shortlist this result
o
Open the result in a new tab
x
Set this result aside
/
Search from any page
Ctrl K
Search from any page
?
Show these shortcuts
Esc
Close

Index

Close
Log in

Language